top of page

The Navaratna Collection

Navaratna Jewellery


What is it?


Navaratna comes from Hindu cosmology which conceives of the universe as containing seven planets and two personifications of the moon cycle. Navaratna is jewellery which is made from the combination of the nine powerful gemstones. These include Ruby, Pearl, Red Coral, Emerald, Yellow Sapphire, Diamond, Hessonite and Cat’s Eye. Combined in a single ornament their traditional arrangement describes the celestial relationship between the nine stones and becomes a powerful amulet. Historically these gems were predominately worn by Kings and Emperors as the gemstones are believed to provide an astrological balance and benefit to the wearer. 


What does each gemstone represent?


Each gem is believed to have celestial significance. 

Ruby is for the Sun and is meant to help royalty with their leadership qualities. 

Pearl is for the Moon and provides the ability to increase emotional stability. 

Red Coral is for Mars and is meant to provide energy, insight and courage.

Emerald is for Mercury and is good for communication skills and mental control.

Yellow Sapphire is for Jupiter and stands for qualities like wisdom, joyfulness and compassion.

Diamond is for Venus and helps to bring balance by increasing grace, charm and artistic abilities.

Blue Sapphire is for Saturn and can cause complications if not well balanced with other gems.

Hessonite is for the ascending Lunar Node and brings clarity to the mind of the wearer.

Cat’s Eye is for the descending Lunar Node and helps alleviate doubt and uncertainty.


Where is Navaratna Jewellery used?


Navaratna Jewellery has cultural significance in many Southern and South-East Asian cultures as it symbolises wealth, status and has benefits of health and wellbeing for the wearer.

bottom of page